top of page

Astroparticle physics is undergoing a phase of profound transformation. We have recently obtained extraordinary results such as the discovery of high-energy cosmic neutrinos with IceCube, the direct detection of gravitational waves with LIGO and Virgo, and we have witnessed the birth of multimessenger astrophysics.

Yet we have formidable challenges ahead of us: understanding the nature of dark matter and dark energy, elucidating the origin of cosmic rays, understanding the matter-antimatter asymmetry problem, and so on. These are highly interdisciplinary problems that have ramifications in cosmology, particle, and astroparticle physics, and that are best addressed by a strong and diverse community of scientists.

The European Consortium for Astroparticle Theory (EuCAPT) aims to bring together the European community of theoretical astroparticle physicists and cosmologists.


Our goals are:

  • to increase the exchange of ideas and knowledge;

  • to coordinate scientific and training activities;

  • to help scientists attract adequate resources for their projects;

  • to promote a stimulating, fair and open environment in which young scientists can thrive.

All institutions active in theoretical astroparticle physics and cosmology are welcome to join EuCAPT. All our events and initiatives are open to everyone.

EuCAPT abides by a Code of Conduct that can be found here. 


The EuCAPT White Paper is the result of a collaborative effort that involved hundreds of theoretical astroparticle physicists and cosmologists. The White Paper explores upcoming theoretical opportunities and challenges for our field of research, with particular emphasis on the possible synergies among different subfields, and the prospects for solving the most fundamental open questions with multi-messenger observations.

The Consortium

Below you can find the interactive map of the 126 European institutions that  joined EuCAPT. If you notice any typos or omissions, please contact the EuCAPT Secretariat at eucapt.secretariat [at]

EuCAPT statement on Ukraine 


as part of APPEC, and in line with the position of its central hub CERN, we as EuCAPT condemn, in the strongest terms, the military invasion of Ukraine by the Russian Federation, and deplore the resulting loss of life and humanitarian impact, as well as the involvement of Belarus in this unlawful use of force against Ukraine.

The team

Steering Committee:

Gianfranco Bertone (Director)

Gabriela Barenboim (Funding Opportunities)

Francesca Calore (Governance/Elections)

Ema Dimastrogiovanni (Training)

Valerie Domcke (Symposium)

Matteo Fasiello (Workshops)

Anne Green (Colloquia)

David Marsh (Website)

Silvia Pascoli (Outreach)

Alvise Raccanelli (Collaborative Projects)

Andrew Taylor (Newsletter)

Jessica Turner (Community Building)

Junior contributor:

Nikolina Šarčević

bottom of page